[WP8] How to correctly render a sprite in a png texture?

Mar 23, 2014 at 9:37 AM
Edited Mar 23, 2014 at 12:23 PM
Hello,

I'm quite new to DirectXTK and I'm trying to draw a sprite on WP8. My texture is png format and I know that only dds texture is support on WP8. So I convert the png to dds by opening in my project in VS2013 and save it as dds format

My codes to load the texture:

HRESULT hr =
            CreateDDSTextureFromFile(m_d3dDevice.Get(),
            wszDDSFile,
            NULL,
            &m_shipTexture,
            NULL);
        if (FAILED(hr))
        {
            g_OutputDebugString(L"CreateDDSTextureFromFile (%s) fails 0x%x\n", wszDDSFile, hr);
        }
Mu codes to render:
        const float midnightBlue[] = { 0.098f, 0.098f, 0.439f, 1.000f };
        m_d3dContext->ClearRenderTargetView(
            m_renderTargetView.Get(),
            midnightBlue
            );

m_d3dContext->ClearDepthStencilView(
            m_depthStencilView.Get(),
            D3D11_CLEAR_DEPTH,
            1.0f,
            );

m_d3dContext->OMSetRenderTargets(
            m_renderTargetView.GetAddressOf(),
            m_depthStencilView.Get()
            );

m_spriteBatch->Begin();
        m_spriteBatch->Draw(m_shipTexture, XMFLOAT2(0, 0));
        m_spriteBatch->End();
However the sprite is not rendered correctly. The sprite itself is correctly rendered, but there are lots of noise in the rest part of the texture. The rest part in the texture should be transparent and should not be rendered as what we see if we open the original png file.

Does anyone know if there's an easy way to render the texture correctly converted from a png file? I shared my png file and the screenshot of actual image after rendering here:

Original PNG Texture

Actual Image Rendered
Mar 23, 2014 at 9:51 AM
Edited Mar 23, 2014 at 12:53 PM