Question About Sprite Rendering

Oct 6, 2014 at 3:58 PM
Hi guys Can any one explain me how to render my sprites with transparency ? I'm new to DIrectXTK and I was using DIrectDraw where you simply set the color key, But how do I achieve this with sprite batch ? maybe you have any links to tutorials or forums that gonna help me get my head around it. thanks
Coordinator
Oct 6, 2014 at 7:12 PM
Edited Oct 6, 2014 at 7:16 PM
Color-keying is an old-school technology, so the modern API doesn't support it with specific APIs.

You can convert color-keyed images to images with an alpha channel, and then you use the standard alpha-blending techniques to do the blending/transparency at runtime. I have a work-item to include functionality like this in DirectXTex, but it's also a fairly easy operation to do yourself.

Ideally you do this conversion at build time and not at load time (i.e. only ship textures with alpha and not with color-keying).

DirectX Tool Kit uses premultiplied-alpha by default, but you can use 'straight-alpha' as well. See SpriteBatch for some details on this.

You can also do color-keying with a custom pixel shader, but there's not a lot of value in doing this way unless you have to deal with color-keyed images coming from a user or other source you can't convert ahead of time.
Oct 6, 2014 at 8:33 PM
It all sounds like magic for me as I never used alpha blending before, I don't even know where to start. But Let's say I wanna use premultiplied alpha Can you tell me where to start ? What I need to know first to use alpha blending with DIrectXTK ?
Coordinator
Oct 6, 2014 at 10:02 PM
Coordinator
Oct 6, 2014 at 11:29 PM
Note that for simple sprite drawing usages you don't typically need to think so hard about these nuances. Create your artwork in a format that includes an alpha (transparency) channel such as .png, and it'll pretty much Just Work (tm) using DirectXTK.
Oct 7, 2014 at 4:11 PM
ShawnHargreaves wrote: