This project has moved and is read-only. For the latest updates, please go here.

CMO vs XNB vs FBX File Sizes

Jan 4, 2014 at 7:19 PM
I am an indie developer building a game that leverages the DirectX Tool Kit. I am grateful for this API and it is incredibly valuable in the absence of XNA. This forum post is about the CMO format used in the Visual Studio pipeline. I definitely understand that I have the ability to write my own format -- and as an indie developer you can probably understand why I am reticent to do so. I am hoping to understand the value the CMO format provides over XNB or .X.

One thing I noticed is that thereis a significant difference in output file size between XNA XNB files and VS Pipeline CMO files. Here is a sample comparison:

FBX 92 Kb
XNB 517 Kb
CMO 1133 Kb!

So the CMO file is ten times larger than a FBX file, and interestingly, twice as big as an XNB file. Since shaders are compiled out into separate files, I am wondering why there is such a dramatic difference in file size. Is it that XNB files are compressed and CMO files are not?

The .X file format did a great job of storing minimal formatting -- it was largely raw vertices, indices, and texturing coordinates -- I wonder how things have progressed with the CMO format.

I think this question dovetails into an earlier post I made (https://directxtk.codeplex.com/discussions/479123) about the desire for some developers (at least myself) to understand the trade-offs between what existed in XNA and what is being offered through the DirectX Tool Kit today. Clearly, the DirectX Tool Kit is an independent offering developers who are passionate, and so I am grateful for the API. In terms of building the best solution available, I feel I have a lot to learn to better understand the post-XNA landscape for indie developers.

Thanks,
Shaun
Jan 5, 2014 at 8:19 AM
Edited Jan 5, 2014 at 8:24 AM