Shader example 2D

Nov 28, 2014 at 5:40 PM
Edited Nov 28, 2014 at 7:01 PM
hi,

i want to add a glow effect to my Button , but i have no idea ,how to do that.

I would very appriciate it when somebody can give me a full example, how too add effects on a 2D Texture. I have never used XNA or C# . Some links refering to XNA , i dont get it... how to port this to the Toolkit.
All my attempts failed badly...
Pls a full example , and dont let the "unimportend" stuff away, i am a beginner.

(I am a not english native speaker, i hope you understand my problems) =D
Coordinator
Nov 28, 2014 at 10:43 PM
Edited Nov 28, 2014 at 11:48 PM
The reason we point to a lot of XNA Game Studio content is that much of it applies (at least in theory) to the DirectX Tool Kit which is a C++ library but it makes use of the design of the XNA Game Studio APIs. As such, most anything you can do with say XNA Game Studio's C# SpriteBatch class, you can do in the same way with DirectX Tool Kit's C++ SpriteBatch class.

Of course, since XNA Game Studio is built around Direct3D 9 with the Effects framework shaders built with the fx_2_0 shader profile with C# code, and DirectX Tool Kit is built around Direct3D 11 with direct HLSL shaders using the Shader Model 4.0 profiles (and their Feature Level 9.1 equivalents) with C++ code, they are not the same line-by-line but the concepts certainly apply.

I would love to see more tutorials and samples for the DirectX Tool Kit, and there are a few out there, but there's limited resources available to do this work.

Glow effects are achieved with a post-process filter, usually applied with a fullscreen alpha-blended sprite via SpriteBatch. Glow and bloom are very similar, so take a look at this Windows Store app sample using the DirectX Tool Kit.
Marked as answer by walbourn on 11/28/2014 at 2:47 PM
Nov 29, 2014 at 2:06 AM
Edited Nov 29, 2014 at 2:23 AM
thank you for your reply,